MadCast: Kitty Stark

How do I change keyboard switches?

Question

So after rediscovering and disposing of my old broken Razer keyboard, I was curious about changing the switches on my current Corsair keyboard to be a bit more tactile and "clicky" like the Razer ones. I'm not sure what Cherry switches (or any brand, as I don't know which is considered best) are most similar to the Razer green switches, but I'd like to buy enough . I did find this guide which has great instructions for the actual process, but I have no experience with soldering and the starter kit they recommend in the article is sold out on Amazon. At this point I have a few questions;

• Is soldering a high-difficulty skill or something relatively simple to learn/hard to master?
  • Do you have any recommendations for a budget-friendly starter kit for electronic soldering?
  • Is it important to get a soldering iron with  precise temperature setting VS just on/off?
  • Do you have any advice other than what the article instructs?
  • What type of switches should I buy that closely resemble the Razer green (very clicky and with a noticeable button pressing feel)?
  • Is this a good project to learn soldering on, or should I do something more basic first to practice?

3 answers to this question

• Is soldering a high-difficulty skill or something relatively simple to learn/hard to master?