MadCast: Qrow

Who here are musicians?

I've been playing music for 13 years and percussion for 10. I'm the drumline captain at my college and in various other ensembles. Who else plays music for fun or in ensembles? 

21 minutes ago, MadCast: majorhoward said:

I do some playing for fun, I play the trumpet, Bagpipes, and I'm learning the Carnyx.

Major! How've you been? what is the Carnyx? 

I haven't played in a few years but I was a percussionist  for 8 years, I was first base on my drumline in high school my jr and sr year and cymbals my freshman and sophomore year. I definitely miss the family atmosphere of drumline. I can play pretty much anything without strings, except piano I can play piano lol. I never have time to ply anymore between work school and moming but music still plays a huge part in my life. 

Awards

Yeah man, that's cool. Drumline is totally a close family. I'm sad I've got one semester left with them. Also piano is technically percussion! 

I've got a pretty long relationship with music which unfortunately did not end on the best terms because high schoolers are full of drama. Started flute when I was 10, added clarinet at 14, piccolo and tenor sax at 15, and bassoon at 17 for a musical. I dabbled in a ton of other ones and I still have a keyboard at home, but I probably can only play my flute/piccolo and tenor sax any more from memory because I spent the most time on them. I always wanted to learn violin because my mom played it in her school orchestra but unfortunately my school did not have a budget or teacher for any kind of stringed instruments, and I don't have the money or time to learn it on my own now.

Marching band was definitely a second home for me for many years and I wish I could just look back fondly, but I do remember watching professional drum cores perform and it still is one of the most amazing feats of human coordination I've ever seen.