MadCast: Sotarkadin

Looking to upgrade

Question

I am looking to upgrade my machine, it's a few years old but nothing too bad.  I am looking to spend less than $1000.  I am not sure what needs to be upgraded if anything but any input would be appreciated.

My current specs:

Processor: i7-6700K @ 4GHz
Ram: 16 GB
Video: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage:  250GB SSD and 2 TB HD

If nothing really needs to upgraded for another year or two then great I don't need to spend any money.  But I am thinking at least adding more RAM going from 16 to 32.

8 answers to this question

RAM is a little low, but other than that, your rig should be fine for a while

I'd wait a bit for any big upgrades, the GeForce 20 series is great, but should have a bit more price dropping left to do.

I would hold off. I am no expert, but that's pretty solid for what's on the market currently unless you want to go VR. 

I would probably wait, and buy a better VR capable card, like a 20series, and get 32 gigs of Ram.

A small quality of life upgrade is for about $200 you could get like a 1 TB Samsung 970 Evo M.2 which would speed your entire rig up quite a bit. Assuming your Mobo has a m.2 slot

I'll echo the notes about the GPUs here. Unless you're wanting a power house card for VR, you really shouldn't "need" to upgrade that at all.

AMD will be having new cards with their 7nm architecture out this year most likely. That'll help drive down some costs on the other competitors out there since most will not have that. That means it might be a good time (at that point) to consider a 20 series card. The only thing I would stay away from are the 2080TIs as they're still having some issues with them. Generally only when you're really taxing them out, but problems are problems in my book.